Skip to main content

News - Material Science and Engineering


  • New research center at ITM

    Published May 05, 2020

    Starting this year, Center for Mechanics and Materials Design (MMD) will bring together Solid Mechanics and Materials Science and Engineering. The cen...

    Read the article
  • Best paper award from IOM3 to researcher at the unit of Process

    Johan Martinsson
    Johan Martinsson, main researcher behind the study of foam structures in high temperatures.
    Published Apr 20, 2020

    Johan Martinsson´s work solves the experimental difficulties of studying the structure of foam as a function of slag composition and viscosity at high...

    Read the article
  • She reveals metal's secrets during 3D printing

    Greta Lindwall, Assistant Professor at the department of Materials Science and Engineering.
    Published Mar 25, 2020

    Hi Greta Lindwall, you have received funding from Vetenskapsrådet through the Röntgen-Ångström Cluster (RÅC) to do research on real-time tracking of e...

    Read the article
  • Extensive project grant awarded to MSE researcher

    Published Mar 16, 2020

    Greta Lindwall, assistant professor at MSE, has been awarded a grant from Röntgen-Ångström for a research project in additive manufacturing.

    Read the article
  • Hultgren Laboratory climbs the ladder

    Published Feb 11, 2020

    Hultgren Laboratory at Material science and Engineering is now a so-called KTH Research Infrastructure. The aim is to strengthen important research en...

    Read the article
  • Prize for climate neutrality innovation

    Rutger Gyllenram (left) and Peter Samuelsson (right) of the Unit of Processes
    Published Jan 29, 2020

    Congratulations to Peter Samuelsson and Rutger Gyllenram who have won the KTH Innovations Challenge "Going climate neutral" for their idea "FerroSilva...

    Read the article
  • International Seminar 2019

    KTH prizewinners Henrietta Isaksson (middle) and Hans-Henrik König (right). Another prizewinner from NTNU is on the left.
    Published Dec 16, 2019

    In November Assistant Professor Chris Hulme-Smith travelled to NTNU (Trondheim, Norway) with 21 masters students for the 2019 International seminar in...

    Read the article
  • Inauguration of new synchrotron radiation center

    Peter Hedström, director of CeXS, talks about the center.
    Peter Hedström, director of CeXS, talks about the center. Photo: Tao Zhou.
    Published Oct 02, 2019

    The Center for X rays in Swedish materials science (CeXS) was formally inaugurated on August 14 with a workshop at KTH. Present were representatives f...

    Read the article
  • Jubilee conference for Bergsskolan 200 years

    Bergsskolan was moved to Stockholm after an extended battle between those who wanted a more theoretical environment and those who wanted to remain close to the mining and industries in Falun. Theory was seen as the winner, but questions about how practitioners and researchers could work together remained in the school for a long time.
    Published Jul 08, 2019

    Sweden's first higher civil technical education turns 200. Bergsskolan in Falun became the basis for both today's KTH and Materials Science and Engine...

    Read the article
  • John Ågren visiting professor at Northwestern University

    Portrait of John Ågren.
    Published May 13, 2019

    In the position as visiting professor John Ågren will be teaching Computational Thermodynamics Kinetics as well as performing research within the Exel...

    Read the article
  • Bergsskolan 200 years – jubilee conference

    Published Apr 11, 2019

    Bergsskolan turns 200, which we celebrate with a conference and dinner at KTH 17th–18th of June. The conference involves two full days of lectures and...

    Read the article
  • Most downloaded paper in materials research

    Published Feb 10, 2019

    A paper by Ziyong Huo, R. Prasath Babu, Peter Hedström and Joakim Odqvist from the Department of Materials Science, became the top downloaded article ...

    Read the article
  • The 2017 NIMS Award goes to Dr. John Ågren, Dr. Bo Sundman, and Dr. Kiyohito Ishida

    Published Aug 16, 2017
    Read the article